Maths rocks: From wannabe palaeontologist to real mathematician – Dr. Eugenie Hunsicker

Clearing the paths to careers in maths for girls – Dr. Eugenie Hunsicker, Senior Lecturer in Mathematics at Loughborough University

via Womanthology, a digital magazine and community for working women.

“When I was a kid, mathematics never occurred to me as a profession. I wanted to be a palaeontologist and dig up dinosaur bones. Maths class seemed to consist primarily of endless long division sheets. I remember telling my mom, “I hate maths! It is so boring!” But at the same time, I also remember lots of interesting discussions with my parents about maths.

Once I asked my father about imaginary numbers and if you got something more if you tried to take the square root of i. He gave me a long discussion of algebra in the complex numbers and showed me how to find the square root of i, and I was hooked!”

Published by

martin56jones

"The mathematician's patterns, like the painter's or the poet's, must be beautiful; the ideas, like the colours or the words, must fit together in a harmonious way. " G H Hardy, A Mathematician's Apology (London 1941).

Leave a Reply

